Cascade Tip of the Month: Reusing Announcements

Announcements are simple pages that can be pulled into a listbox as prominent links in the right column of your home page (or any other page for that matter). The most common question we hear, “I’d like to re-use my announcements periodically… Do I have to delete and rebuild them every time?” Luckily, you do not, and here are our suggested steps for reusing announcements taken from Cascade Help:

  1. Select the announcement you want to hide and UN-publish it (click the Publish tab, select Un-publish, Submit).
  2. Click the Edit tab and then the System sub-tab.
  3. UN-check the “Include when publishing” and “Include when indexing” boxes and Submit.
  4. Publish your site folder.

When you’re ready to reactivate your hidden announcement:

  1. Select the announcement.
  2. Click the Edit tab and then the System sub-tab.
  3. Check the “Include when publishing” and “Include when indexing” boxes and Submit.
  4. Publish your site folder.

 

~ Mark Windley

Comments are closed.